Wastas in E&Y Jordan

I always wonder about the young people who work in E&Y. Most of the accounting graduates that I know work in E&Y. They are the people I used to go to school with, from the same social network, and from the same social class.

I know many people who are currently working in Ernst&Young, and I always hear the same answer when I ask them my all time question, how come are you all working in the same company? and I always hear the same simple answer, Wasta. A friend that works there once said to me that E&Y is currently employing 100% entry-level graduates by Wasta. She also said that they have an inside joke where the first question they ask a new employer who employed you, or who is your Wasta.

When I asked my friend, why does Ernst&Young, one of the biggest private companies in Jordan, one of the big fours, employ by Wasta. She said, there are many fresh graduates applying for an entry-level, they simply have thousands of applicants, and by knowing someone, the application will be stocked over the other, and this is the easiest way of doing it.

What about graduates with parents of no connections?

Wasta: or Wasata (Arabic: واسْطة) is an Arabic word that loosely translates into ‘clout‘ or ‘who you know’. It refers to using one’s connections and/or influence to get things done, including government transactions such as the quick renewal of a passport, waiving of traffic fines, and getting hired for or promoted in a job.

2 comments on “Wastas in E&Y Jordan

  1. That’s the case of most organizations in Jordan; it’s all about who you know.
    Thanks for putting it out there in a simple yet to the point style.

Leave a Reply

